On Monday at noon, President Bola Tinubu officially swore in three more ministers to his 48-member cabinet.

Before the start of the Federal Executive Council meeting, over which Tinubu is presiding, Jamila Bio Ibrahim, Ayodele Olawande, and Balarabe Lawal took the oath of office at 12:15 pm in the Council Chamber of the State House.

This occurs almost two weeks after the Senate approved the trio on October 4, 2023, following a screening.

President Tinubu appointed Ibrahim and Olawande as ministers of youth and minister of state for youth, respectively, on September 17, 2023.

Additionally, he asked the Senate to confirm Balarabe Lawal as a minister Kaduna.

In Tinubu’s cabinet, Lawal takes over as minister of the environment for his principal, who was secretary to the government under former governor Nasir El-Rufai.

Ibrahim, 37, is from the state of Kwara. She is a politician, doctor, development expert, and supporter of the Sustainable Development Goals set forth by the UN.

She was the APC Young Women Forum’s National President prior to her most recent appointment.

Olawande, 34, is a youth leader and expert in community development for the All Progressives Congress.

Before being nominated, Olawande worked as the vice president’s office’s Prof. Yemisi Osinbajo special adviser on innovation. Yemisi Osinbajo. Between 2019 and 2023, he held the position.

The Council observed a moment of silence prior to the meeting in memory of Mobolaji Ajose-Adeogun, who passed away on July 1, 2023.

Ajose-Adeogun, who passed away at the age of 96, was appointed Minister of the Federal Capital by the military regime of Murtala Mohammed in 1976 and held the position until 1979.

Since President Tinubu took office on May 29, 2-23, the council has met twice; the most recent one was on Monday.

In accordance with Article 144(5) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended), the “Executive Council of the Federation” (also known as the Federal Executive Council) is recognized as the “body of Ministers of the Government of the Federation, however called, established by the President and charged with such responsibilities for the functions of government as the President may direct.”. “.

The Council’s objectives are to develop policies, carry out government initiatives, and, more broadly, to support the President in carrying out his executive duties.

The President, Vice President, and appointed ministers make up the majority of the Council, which is housed in the Cabinet Affairs Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation.

According to Article 148 (2) of the Constitution, the President is required to seek the advice of other constitutionally required advisory bodies, such as the Council of State, the National Security Council, and the Nigeria Police Council, among others, and to follow their recommendations. Each of these bodies meets irregularly to provide these recommendations and advice.

The FEC meets once a week to discuss agenda items and make decisions, according to the CAO. “.

George Akume, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Femi Gbajabiamila, the National Security Adviser, Nuhu Ribadu, Dr. Folashade Yemi-Esan, the Head of the Federation’s Civil Service, and all Ministers and Ministers of State are in attendance.

Google search engine


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here